RSS

Wean Me Gently

17 Sep
I know I look so big to you,
Maybe I seem too big for the needs I have.
But no matter how big we get,
We still have needs that are important to us.
I know that our relationship is growing and changing,
But I still need you. I need your warmth and closeness,
Especially at the end of the day
When we snuggle up in bed.
Please don’t get too busy for us to nurse.
I know you think I can be patient,
Or find something to take the place of a nursing –
A book, a glass of something,
But nothing can take your place when I need you.
Sometimes just cuddling with you,
Having you near me is enough.
I guess I am growing and becoming independent,
But please be there.
This bond we have is so strong and so important to me,
Please don’t break it abruptly.
Wean me gently,
Because I am your mother,
And my heart is tender.
~ Cathy Cardall
 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2012 in Breastfeeding, The First Year, Triplets

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Wean Me Gently

  1. Caitlin

    September 18, 2012 at 5:24 am

    Aw lovey. You’ll be OK. I promise!

     
  2. Caitlin

    September 18, 2012 at 5:25 am

    (It is hard though. I’ve felt clucky each time after I weaned. Good grief. What if that happens this time?)

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      September 18, 2012 at 6:18 am

      I just hope they don’t wanna wean for a great many months still. 🙂

       
  3. Kelly

    September 20, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Ahhhhh so beautiful! My lil guy has been very slowly weaning since he was 19 months old! He is now 26 months & still decides there are some days he just needs those extra few minutes of closeness.I treasure them, as it is no longer every day!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      September 21, 2012 at 12:06 am

      Ohsosad! :o/ Great job on making it so long! That is commendable! I take it day by day with the babies and am so grateful we have made it this far! 🙂

       
  4. Kelly

    September 20, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    Just realized this could be the mom speaking to child….how very touching

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      September 21, 2012 at 12:07 am

      Yes, I believe that’s the intention. It made me cry. 🙂

       
  5. Ashleigh

    December 20, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    What a wonderful poem. I’m breastfeeding my 19-month old twins and absolutely love the bond that we share.

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      December 20, 2012 at 10:56 pm

      Thanks, Ashleigh! It is pretty incredible, isn’t it?! Congrats on making it so far with them! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
