RSS

Noah David – Little Man

10 Oct

My little man. You are such a show-off. From the earliest days of feeling three tiny babies kicking inside me, you were always quick to join the party and stomp away. When I finally laid eyes on you, I suddenly “got” what every other mother of a son experiences…you melted me. It was so hard to see my little man with his oxygen mask on, looking so frail and weak. Maybe I kinda expected you to hop out of my tummy looking tall and strong like daddy? You were soon trying, though! I couldn’t believe when I walked into your hospital room and saw your tiny bottom stuck in the air with your legs straight up underneath you! You were nearly two months premature and already you were doing what older babies would do!!! …this should have been a clue to us, little man.

You were the only baby we got to “room in” with at the hospital. Daddy and I never had fully cared for a baby as tiny as you were – only 4#13 oz when you came home! So we stayed the night in a special room and I hardly slept. It was so nerve-racking but you were so patient with us. The next night, when we were all three in mommy and daddy’s room at home, was so much better!

Noah, you are my booger, Animal, my buddy, my heart-throb…the only other boy I’ll ever love. I love how you have tested mommy and daddy from the get-go! You kept us up late at night with terrible tummy pains. You must have known we couldn’t let you cry because it’d burn too many of your precious calories…and so you milked that for all it was worth! And, like a typical boy, we had to call the paramedics within the first 3 weeks of your being home. Thankfully, the Lord had His hand on you, little man, and you were fine. It wasn’t long until you were hungrily nursing with mommy and happy to be done with bottles. You taught mommy how to breastfeed, paving the way for your sisters just weeks later. Your little smug smile over some new accomplishment continues to make me laugh. You try so hard to not let me see how proud you are – but I see it! And I am proud of you, too, son! I love how your tongue sticks out with concentration as you work towards your little goals. I love how you smile up at me with happiness, just knowing I am near. I love how you have grown leaps and bounds this year, forcing me to trust God in ways I never imagined. I love your bright blue eyes and blonde hair that will one day be part of what draws another woman to you. I love how you are so “manly” and yet so “mama’s boy” all rolled into one. You were the first to jump out of your Bumbo, to crawl and pull up on furniture. And yet you were the last to take charge with table food, content to let me spoon feed you till college (or so I thought!). You are my whiny booger, wanting to be near me at all times. And you were the first to give me kisses…all other flaws are now forgiven. 

Though your stubbornness has exhausted me already (and we’re only a year into this!), I can see it eventually helping you to become a godly man, son. As you grow up, daddy and I will help you learn how to do that. And I pray you will see your daddy as the wonderful example he is, with his desire to be like Christ.  

I love you. Always, always. 

Mommy

My little man at just under two weeks old. Notice how big the paci is compared to him. Ohhh, how he’s grown!!!

Noah at 11m old. I’m in love. Oh, he’s so beautiful!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Noah David – Little Man

  1. Dena Walley

    October 10, 2012 at 9:14 am

    I love these letter to them! It’s so great that you’re taking the time to remember each milestone because before you know it you won’t remember most of who went first and when they did it. It will be written down though and you’ll be thankful for that. I love seeing each of their little personalities through you letters. Having to watch them grow up from afar, I still get them confused, so it’s nice to get to see a bit of them this way!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      October 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm

      Hahaha! Thanks, Dena!! Oh, and the more you see them, the easier it will be. (M has pink earrings, E has lavender :).

       
  2. shereesmusings

    October 10, 2012 at 11:07 am

    You’re killing me! This is so honest and endearing and beautifully written. I will cherish the night I “slept” on your couch holding Noah because he wouldn’t sleep otherwise. Such a precious little man.

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      October 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm

      Thanks, Sheree! 🙂 I was so grateful for the sleep that night…and the reassurance that I wasn’t crazy…and to catch up…and…and… 🙂 He IS so super precious. 🙂

       
  3. Allura

    October 10, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Oh how I love your little Noah. He makes me laugh so hard I can’t catch my breath, especially when he hears music and his body starts dancing to the beat…”a slave to the rhythm”, as David said yesterday. 😉 His laugh is the bestest in the whole wide world…maybe the whole universe. I love this little guy, my first grandson, sooo, soooo much!! Good writing, too, little mama! ❤

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      October 10, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      Hahhahahaha! Yes! He really IS a slave to the rhythm. Lol! 🙂

       
  4. Heather Mellichamp

    October 10, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    There is definitely something about baby boys that steal their Momma’s heart from birth! Wouldn’t believe it when my momma friends that had boys warned me of the blessings and challenges, but now I just can’t help to laugh at Alec’s funny little ways, even when he’s been the most trying in certain areas, he still seems to catch me snickering over some of his tricks and sneaky moves! Loved reading this post about Noah and how you captured so many of the wonderful yet real traits lil guys come with!

     
  5. janelle

    October 11, 2012 at 8:39 am

    This made me tear up. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
