RSS

Coconut Lotion Does Not Equal Stress

23 Oct

Alright, now that we are working on fighting against sin together, let’s continue with our ½ marathon blog challenge with CMBA. Today, I am sharing another of David’s suggestions for surviving the early days of new parenthood. It’s a tough one…are you ready? Massage. That’s right! It is impossible to make it through these times without giving your spouse a massage! Ok, ok, it’s not impossible but it’s not nearly as relaxing without the occasional knot-reducing back rub.

I am nearly positive you’re wondering why on earth I’m bothering to write about this – if you’re even still with me! And, honestly, I contemplated this myself. But our goal was to share practical and easy-to-implement tips for those about to enter parenthood (or for those newly into this season of life). What could be easier and cheaper and, I’d argue!, more meaningful during those stressful moments than to hear your spouse ask if you’d like a massage??? Chances are that, in the moment, it will be one of the furthest thoughts from your mind when you’ve finally settled the baby down and you’re exhausted and just want to sleep. But what a simple opportunity to give of your time and energy for a few moments to bless your spouse! And to be on the receiving end??? Yes, this is why we mention it. Give one and then receive one…you’ll thank us, I’ll bet. .smile.

Do you feel the stress melting away yet???

As a pregnant mama, especially with three babies in every nook and cranny of my abdomen, there was almost never a comfortable day of pregnancy. Something was always aching and sore. And now as a nursing mom, there are ways I scrunch and shift and bend in order to tuck that baby in “just so” for a feeding. This quickly results in all kinds of tension in my back. David knows I wake up every morning with an aching back, even after a decent night’s sleep! So on occasion he will offer to spend some time working those knots out. And I’m not talking a little rub…I mean a deep-tissue massage. He will work on my back so selflessly that I sometimes fall asleep! (He doesn’t understand how I can respond with falling asleep. Hahaha!)

And ladies, when your husbands get home from work and jump right into finishing dinner prep, holding the baby, doing the yard work, etc…you better believe he won’t turn down an offer of a back rub from you. As long as you can keep from falling asleep (heehee!), it can also provide some awesome minutes of conversation. David and I so enjoy the talks we’ve had during these times of serving one another. We aren’t distracted by the TV, our phones buzzing or the growing number of Facebook notifications…we’re simply enjoying a relaxing 10 minutes (or so) with each other. It’s kinda gotten to be a joke – if I want a massage, I’ll often sneak my fave coconut lotion onto his bedside table for him to “discover.” And sometimes in these crazy days a laugh is as welcome as a massage! (Proverbs 17:22)

Tomorrow we’ll share something a bit more purposeful…but still super easy to do! Don’t worry!!! Tonight, just give your spouse a well-deserved massage (whatever season of life you’re in) and give me a shout out tomorrow!

Day 7 of the marriage blog challenge from CMBA. To see other CMBA bloggers, click here.

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Coconut Lotion Does Not Equal Stress

  1. Kristen Cornelius

    October 23, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    Jen-Although Rob isn’t really a fan of “receiving” massages-He is a wonderful server! He has gifted me with more back and feet massages to this aching (and cranky) mama than I can count..and I too love to fall asleep 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      October 23, 2012 at 3:16 pm

      Yay, Rob!! 🙂 Love it!! And you’re almost done cooking that LO, mama! Hang in there!!

       
  2. Scott

    October 23, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Good one! My day 5 post of the challenge, which I wrote as a 13-day Intimacy Challenge, was to give your husband or wife a massage to help them de-stress!
    http://www.surrenderedmarriage.org/2012/10/intimacy-challenge-day-5.html

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      October 23, 2012 at 3:18 pm

      Awesome!! I can’t wait to read up on your blog! Sounds intriguing!!!

       
  3. Caitlin

    October 26, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    I found a baby massage oil the other day that we hadn’t used so put it on my bedside table to use for us. Unfortunately it is still sitting there untouched. We’ve certainly massaged each other since then, but oil is just so messy! But whenever we use it I wonder why I don’t every time. So much better!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      October 27, 2012 at 10:53 am

      Haha! I actually am not a fan of lotion and def not oil so I’ll send the babies’ to y’all. Haha!

       

Leave a Reply

 
