RSS

Happy Birthday, part 1

14 Nov
Happy Birthday, part 1

Well, it took me long enough, right??? Only 43 days past their birthday…but who’s counting?

September 30th, 2012 dawned clear and bright. And hot. Very, very, VERY hot. The day the babies were born (October 1, 2011), was chilly and everybody arriving at the hospital had their warm scarves, jackets and hot coffee in hand. 364 days later there was not a scarf in sight! But we kept on, grateful that it wasn’t raining!

I have to pause here for a moment and thank several people who made this day possible. (With three one year olds to still care for, I was left with very little time each day to prep for the party! Eight solid hours each day are spent just feeding my babies. Need I say more???) My parents, Brian and Allura, Katherine Peschau and, of course, David. Seriously. My mom and dad shopped for and ran errands for me since I still can’t just run out and do them myself. My mom made cake pops. My dad brought the air compressor to blow up balloons. He hung balloons. Lots of them. My mom set up. She tore down. My dad wiped down high chairs. Katherine shopped for me. She created awesome projects with me. She answered endless “craft” questions as the Queen of Crafts for Children. She washed countless dishes and cut up a ridiculous amount of fruit for our Very Hungry Caterpillars. And David. I knew I married an Event Planner for a reason. This man can kick out a serious number of projects in a super small amount of time. He is this Planner’s dream husband. We joked – are we planning a birthday party or our WEDDING again?! He didn’t stop – he designed invitations, cards, placards, banners, the list goes on! He ran more errands for me on his lunch breaks, blew up balloons in the wee hours of the morning, hung everything in the extreme heat, tore down everything in the extreme heat…all while working full time and being “on” in the care of our babies day in and day out. David, your love for your children was only outshone by your love for me. Nobody not crazy in love would do all you did. I love having you by my side. You’re my fave. .:.end thankful rant.:.

So, the balloons were hung, Mr. Caterpillar was watching over the food table, the fruit was sliced and the crayons on the table. It looked just like I’d envisioned it – all green and yellow and white! We had such a fun afternoon and the babies very much enjoyed all the attention. They did AMAZING. All my triplet mommy friends warned me to lower my expectations – that one of them (or more!) was sure to melt down and flip out. So I did lower them. But they were stellar!! Or…maybe I was just having too much fun to notice? Either way, it flew by super quick and it was time to feed the tired babies and put them to bed. David and I collapsed and finished off one of the smash cakes. Oh, yes we did.

Enjoy…!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar…

All the days of the week were represented!

One slice of salami, one slice of swiss cheese…

One lollipop

One pickle…

One slice of watermelon…

The Very Hungry Caterpillar was the very first book we ever read to them when they were just wittle babies. They LOVED it. I knew it would be their party theme.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar, himself.

The banner we made for the back wall!

Welcome to the par-tay!!!

The infamous balloon streamers! (Ladies, please, if you’re considering using this idea from Pinterest….let me give you the more realistic picture. =)

The Craft Table – Beautiful Butterfly Headbands!!!

Yaya made this adorable and YUMMY Very Hungry Caterpillar Cakepop scene!!

Meghan made this delish cake for the grown-ups!!

Gettin’ their crafty on!

Emma Claire-bear taking a bite of one of the balls from our very own ball crawl!

Makenna Mae-mae pretendin’ to be all shy…we got your number, Baby Girl!

Noah David (aka, The Animal) trying to sweet talk somebody into somethin’.

So sweet…

Look, mom! I stole from the girls!

Mom, can I have just one more?

I love this picture!!!

This makes me happy. I love these four people…so much.

Wanna take a guess at what Noah’s trying to communicate?

I hope they’ll be best friends…like their two cutie friends in the background! =)

I love this – Emma just buried her head laughing into Makenna’s lap. :happy sigh:

Yaya lovin’ on Noah-man.

I promise, we do feed them.

Caleb and the Noah-meister!

Meghan, Joshua and Ava! Love them!

The babies were so excited that our neighbor Lila Grace (and Nick and Megan!) could join us!! =)

Makenna and Stephanie – sooooo sweet!

Our dear friends, Alan and Leslie Chambers!

Couldn’t you just stare into those blue eyes all day?

Daniel with the Noah-meister!

Daniel with his super-cute nieces (if I do say so myself)!

Makenna with her Papa and Yaya – she loves them soooo much!

Heather, Aunt Michel, (Nanny =) Brittany, and Katherine taking a break from the heat.

Time to cut the cake! Sooo delishiousss!!

Getting together to open presents! Super chaotic but way fun!

Daddy holds Noah…

Mommy holds Emma…

Yaya holds Makenna…and yes, they all had to open their gift from each giver at the same time – getting them used to it early. =)

Pinata time! Jesse the Beautiful Butterfly had lots of candy to share!

And Clayton took the butterfly doooooooooooooown! =)

Makenna, Baby Girl, your silly faces and beautiful grin turn a bad day into a great one. You are my favorite Makenna Mae-mae. Happy Birthday, baby!

Noah…what can I say? You are my one and only little heart-throb and you know it. I love you, son. Happy birthday, baby!

Oh, my Sweet Girl. You are so precious. Your beautiful smile and easy laugh light up my day. I love, love, love you! Happy Birthday, baby!

Ok, so this post is already waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too long. So, I’ll save the cake smash pictures and video for tomorrow. Stop whining – gee, you sound like my babies!!! =) I’ll leave you with this, though…

Mini apple smash cakes!!!

(PC: Steph Lightfoot and Daniel Lightfoot. They rock. Seriously.)

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in The First Year, Triplets

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Happy Birthday, part 1

  1. Dolores Germain

    November 14, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Wonderful pictures!! All of your babies have the most beautiful blue eyes. You are a really good Mommy. Dolores Germain

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      November 14, 2012 at 11:50 am

      Thank you soooo much, Dolores! That is very kind! 🙂

       
  2. Allura

    November 14, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Ahhhhhhh I love this!! What an awesome first birthday party! God has been faithful to you and David, and no matter how many sleepless nights, teething troubles, temper tantrums, etc, He will always be there for you and your family, directing your steps day by day. I love your babies sooo much! Thanks for sharing this!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      November 14, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      Thank you, mom! They love you, too!!! Well, we all do!

       
  3. Susan Wilson

    November 14, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    SOOOO sweet! Love the theme . . wonder if my 14 year old would allow me to do that for her when she turn 15!? . . she loves fruit . . . ha ha Thanks for sharing your lives! As always I cry when I read the thoughts you share! God Bless you and your bunch!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      November 14, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Oh that’s hilarious!!!! 🙂 we had so much fun! And I love hearing from you!!

       
  4. Tessa

    November 15, 2012 at 10:29 am

    I’m just a random reader, but I just had to say what a cute party theme this is and how well you (and all your helpers!) implemented it. My son is 17 months, and I am seriously considering stealing this idea for his 2nd birthday. (He also loves this book.) But I have one question. That doesn’t look like swiss cheese!?! haha, but seriously, this is too, too cute. And your babies are lovely.

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      November 15, 2012 at 11:23 am

      Hi Tessa! Thanks so much for saying hi!! I love hearing from our “random” readers, haha! It’s an AWESOME theme and the possibilities are endless. I incorporated a ton of ideas from Pinterest. You can check them out here: http://pinterest.com/jennifer2010/birthday-party-ideas/. (And you’ve got to see the post I just put up of the smash cakes. :o))) And yeahhhhhhhhh, not swiss cheese. It’s cheddar. I hate swiss cheese so we fudged. :o)

      I am selling many of the items I used (and had to buy in bulk, etc) from the party. Let me know if you’re interested!!! Thanks again for saying hey!

       
  5. Jennifer

    November 27, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    WOW! what a great theme and party! Thanks so much for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
