RSS

First Trip to North Carolina

06 Dec

I tell you what…everybody should take a trip to North Carolina in the fall. It’s just “bee-yoo-ti-ful” (who can tell me where this phrase came from – $5 Sbux gift card in it for you!!! Leave a comment if you know the answer!). The leaves are changing and falling, you can see the mountains between the bare limbs on the trees, and the sweat is dripping from your armpits…hold on, what?! It’s true. It was hot. H-O-T, hot. At least for this mama! But…lemme skooch back to the beginning and give you the low-down of the babies’ second out-of-state trip!

We decided to leave on a Monday morning. This was after much, much, much deliberation. You see, with children you don’t just leave whenever and assume you’ll stop…wherever. Because when that “wherever” is needed, what’s available may be less than desirable…got it? All you not-yet-parents, make note of this. Now, when you have triplets who are still breastfeeding, you must also plan time for this. Add to all this that I wasn’t about to find myself at a Waffle House with three babies for lunch ({gag}). So David and I spent a loooot of time mapping out our trip and reworking routes, leave/arrive times, stops, etc. Armed with a schedule and coffee (would you expect anything less of me???), we headed out on our 14 hour trip…which typically took us 9-10 hours growing up. Oh yes, indeed. And, overall, the trip went GREAT! We couldn’t believe it! We kept waiting for the need to pull off and get a hotel room, but the babies did so well. …Save for the one hour I ended up driving between daylight and nighttime – all three babies screamed. Screamed. How did I describe it? Oh yes! Like taking razors to your eyeballs. Yes.

When we arrived, it actually was freezing cold, midnight and babies began waking up. We expected that. We had a plan, of course, for how to get three babies inside a house we’ve never been in before that is empty, in the middle of the night, while not leaving one alone in the car with only the two of us to carry them. What we didn’t figure on was the lock on the car top carrier getting stuck with the pack ‘n plays inside. And it being pitch black. And the babies screaming in the cold. And the neighboring residents coming out with pitchforks. (Ok, so that last one didn’t actually happen, but I sure was looking over my shoulder the whole time I was holding my iPhone up for David to see with…good old iPhone.)

Fast-forward through the painful next hour, babies were settled and David and I quickly explored. The place was AWESOME! It was a home in my Grandpa’s retirement community. It had a beautiful porch, full kitchen, dining area, 2 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms!! (All the moms out there say, “ooooh!”) Then we went to bed.

The next day we spent with my parents and Grandpa – he’d never met the babies before! And that night we had all of my dad’s family over for chili (thanks, mom!). On Wednesday we headed to Grandmother’s house – over the river and through the woods, up the steep mountain hill…oh, you thought I was joking? Not so much!

I have to pause here and just say how unexpectedly emotional this was for me. I have spent more than 20 years coming to their home for summers, Thanksgivings, Christmases, etc. I have seen green leaves, red leaves and no leaves. We’ve prayed for snow and gotten it. My sibs and I have played “house” on the side of this mountain, in between massive rocks. We’ve swung on the zipline, broken limbs, cooked out, roasted marshmallows, made sweet potato casseroles, watched Little Women, played spoons, and sung to our Saviour around the piano. And, more recently, I introduced David to many of the above while we were courting. Good memories, folks. Good memories. Now I’m bringing my babies here? What?! How can this be? It was quite surreal…

To continue, in order to spend the entire day there, we had to pack up 3 pack ‘n plays, 3 high chairs, a diaper bag, a food bag, a toy bag, and I don’t know what else. (I counted: David packed and unpacked 12 pack ‘n plays total that day. Gosh, I love you, babe!)

Thursday was rather glorious. We leisurely ate breakfast and watched the parade (“leisurely” is not a word I use often these days!). Then we dressed the babies and headed off to spend a couple hours with the Lightfoot family! Well, let’s just say the babies were nearly “peopled” out. They had been insanely good up to this point, but we could see they were losing it. And, what do you do with three crying babies in a non-baby-proofed house? You finish eating (scrummmmmptious meal!) and head on out. It was time for them to eat, anyways, poor little things.

On Friday, my Grandpa wanted his friends to meet the babies (apparently they’re something of a sensation there and there’s a wall of pictures he’s posted of them that gets quite a bit of attention!!!). So, he organized a “meet and greet.” Yes, it’s true. Good thing I love him!!! The babies did wonderfully and Noah flirted with all the ladies, of course. And later on that day we met up with some of the family at a park – the babies’ first experience!!!

Saturday morning, we headed out bright and early. One thing I hadn’t thought of in all of my planning was how much longer it would take to get out the door while in this house with no gate to corral babies. My parents graciously offered to help us. It still took all four of us two hours to get everything loaded (it was all already packed, mind you) and the babies dressed. We somehow managed to only leave a half an hour later than planned.

Now, let me just say to all my fellow triplet moms-to-be…add those portable DVD players to your baby registry list. Go ahead! …finished? Good! You’ll thank me someday. We borrowed them for our rear-facing babes (it’s strongly recommended you rear-face till two now!) and it made all.the.difference. I used them right before the two naps going up and coming home to get them to settle down and sleep. And they ran for a couple of hours during nighttime. I’m pretty sure we’re still sane because of them…they were God’s grace to us! Oh, but don’t forget to bring several different DVDs. Yeah. Anyways, they did amazingly well on the trip home, too. I couldn’t believe it!

So, there you have it! I am thankful for family, beautiful mountains, great food, my Saviour, my bed and my four loves…not in that order! And now for the pictures…

Grandpa meeting his "great-grandtriplets" for the first time!

Grandpa meeting his “great-grandtriplets” for the first time!

Feeding Makenna - he did such a great job! =)

Feeding Makenna – he did such a great job! =)

The fam at "our" house!

The fam at “our” house!

Daddy and son chillaxin' in the big comfy chair at Great-Granddaddy and Great-Grandmother's house.

Daddy and son chillaxin’ in the big comfy chair at Great-Granddaddy and Great-Grandmother’s house.

Papa and Noah on the swing!

Papa and Noah on the swing!

Time to eat!

Time to eat!

The front porch of my grandparents - many a family picture has been taken here.

The front porch of my grandparents – many a family picture has been taken here.

Thanksgiving Day! =)

Thanksgiving Day! =)

At the "meet and greet" with the family...

At the “meet and greet” with the family…

...add David...

…add David…

...switch out Mom. =)

…switch out for Mom. =)

Emma talking to the residents.

Emma talking to the residents.

Noah flirting with all the ladies - even Papa couldn't stop him!

Noah flirting with all the ladies – even Papa couldn’t stop him!

Makenna chatting with YaYa and a new friend.

Makenna chatting with YaYa and a new friend.

Grandpa chatting with the ladies...he was quite the center of attention over this!

Grandpa chatting with the ladies…he was quite the center of attention over this!

My mom and me and my girls, with my cousin Bekah with her new little one - Brighton.

My mom and me and my girls, with my cousin Bekah with her new little one – Brighton.

Oh goodness. Stop. And be jealous I see this face every.single.day.

Oh goodness. Stop. And be jealous I see this face every.single.day.

All the grandkids and great-grandkids that were able to be there. LtoR: Bekah and Brighton, David and Noah and Emma, Travis (cousin) with Meadow and Kellie and me with Makenna and Grandpa in the front!

All the grandkids and great-grandkids that were able to be there. LtoR: Bekah and Brighton, David and Noah and Emma, Travis (cousin) with Meadow and Kellie and me with Makenna and Grandpa in the front!

My Aunt List, Aunt Charlene and mom - with all their grandbabies!

My Aunt List, Aunt Charlene and mom – with all their grandbabies!

Noah...still flirting!

Noah…still flirting!

New mommas!

New mommas!

Noah was very pleased he was actually allowed in the kitchen here. After removing all the pots and lids, he crawled in and out!

Noah was very pleased he was actually allowed in the kitchen here. After removing all the pots and lids, he crawled in and out!

A walk in the park...

A walk in the park…

Ok, one more of this monster.

Ok, one more of this monster.

My sweet Emma!

My sweet Emma!

The little girls!!!

The little girls!!!

The End!

(Thanks for visiting! Would you wanna take 2 seconds and vote for us? Just click the button below…that’s it! Thank you SO much!!)

 
26 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2012 in Holiday, Triplets

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

26 responses to “First Trip to North Carolina

  1. Aunt Charlene

    December 6, 2012 at 9:28 am

    Great post, love the pics!! Now, you’re ready to do it all over again, right? Can’t wait til next time, it was wonderful seeing you all!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      December 6, 2012 at 10:01 am

      Hahaha! We need a liiiiiiiiiiiiiittle time to recover. :o) It was so great seeing you guys!!!

       
  2. Lauren Clark

    December 6, 2012 at 11:19 am

    First of all – your kids are too stinking cute but I know you already knew that =)
    ok I think I know the answer to which movie … is it “Bruce Almight”???

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      December 6, 2012 at 11:25 am

      Awww, thank you! :o) But, nope, that’s not it! (At least that’s not the reference I’m talking about! 🙂

       
      • Howard Lightfoot

        December 6, 2012 at 11:57 am

        Jennifer and David, Thank you, thank you, thank you. I thought I would be proud of the triplets but it was almost over-whelming. They are such a treasure. I know your trip up here was difficult but I appreciate your visit SO MUCH.

         
      • Jennifer Fountain

        December 6, 2012 at 3:21 pm

        Oh my. Hi, Grandpa! :o) I am so glad you got to meet and spend time with them! They really took to you!! It meant a lot to be able to have them meet my Grandpa. You’re such a gift to our family. We love you so much!!!!

         
  3. Allura

    December 6, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Oh Jennifer, what a wonderful recollection, in words and photos, of your time in NC. I was emotional, as well, about the fact that my little girl, who’d spent so many vacations in the mountains, was now bringing HER family to enjoy the fun and fellowship. ❤ We look forward to many more vacays with y'all. And I know the answer. Should I say? 😉

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      December 6, 2012 at 5:55 pm

      Um you know the answer because I had to TELL you! 🙂

       
  4. shereesmusings

    December 7, 2012 at 11:28 am

    I loved reading this and seeing the pictures. What a wonderful legacy to take your children to places you loved as a kid. I have chills….

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      December 7, 2012 at 11:49 am

      Thank you, Sheree! It didn’t hit me till we were there – and then I got chills, too! 🙂

       
  5. Cassie

    December 9, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    Love all the pics!! So glad you had a great time!! The only thing coming to mind to your reference is a Christmas story?

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      December 9, 2012 at 5:41 pm

      Thanks, girl! 🙂 Hope yall are doing well!!! That may be in there but it’s not what I was thinking of. :-/

       
      • Cassie

        December 9, 2012 at 11:07 pm

        Is it despicable me?? Lol

         
      • Jennifer Fountain

        December 10, 2012 at 7:26 am

        No. 🙂

         
      • Cassie

        December 9, 2012 at 11:12 pm

        Or the little rascals? You’re killing Jen! I’ve been trying to figure it out all night! Haha!

         
      • Jennifer Fountain

        December 10, 2012 at 7:26 am

        Nope! 🙂

         
  6. Steph Lightfoot

    December 10, 2012 at 12:37 am

    Boxcar Children? Or Meet Me In St Louis? 😛

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      December 10, 2012 at 7:27 am

      Did you read Boxcar children???? Nope. and it’s not Meet Me in St. Louis! 🙂

       
      • Cassie

        December 10, 2012 at 10:26 am

        Is it from the Bobbsey twins?

         
      • Jennifer Fountain

        December 10, 2012 at 12:49 pm

        It is, indeed!!! How did you decide on this? Legally or illegally, lol? 🙂 You still won, though!! 🙂

         
      • Cassie

        December 10, 2012 at 3:54 pm

        Girl I had to google it! Lol I don’t even know what the Bobbsey twins is! 😛 it was killing me not knowing what that was from!

         
      • Jennifer Fountain

        December 10, 2012 at 4:14 pm

        Lol! 🙂 Just promise me you’ll borrow from the library and read to your kids. 🙂 It’s such a sweet series!

         
      • Cassie

        December 10, 2012 at 6:58 pm

        I will definitely look them up!! 🙂

         
  7. Caitlin

    December 11, 2012 at 7:10 am

    OH MY! In some of those last pictures your babies are in fact looking like toddlers. Which alarms me no end, because that means my babies must also be looking like toddlers too. NOOOOOOO! It’s always so bittersweet as they grow up. Sounds like a wonderful trip. Well done to you and David for doing it.

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      December 14, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Caitlin, they do, don’t they??? 😦 But don’t worry, I have decided to call them babies for at least another 100 years. :o)

       

Leave a Reply

 
