RSS

Happy Birthday!!!

15 Feb

http://www.google.com/imgres?hl=en&tbo=d&biw=1366&bih=638&tbm=isch&tbnid=2xW2ErTk2HIAkM:&imgrefurl=http://www.bertoandkwala.com/2012/09/happy-birthday-mama.html&docid=8aVso3_p4SsCxM&imgurl=http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-_gVtY0FOYtE/UF5h_DKBR4I/AAAAAAAADfs/DNgWlJhM1a0/s1600/birthday-candles.jpg&w=640&h=461&ei=pj8dUdTqBIe68ATmv4CICQ&zoom=1&ved=1t:3588,r:8,s:0,i:132&iact=rc&dur=604&sig=107410980003096801319&page=1&tbnh=190&tbnw=265&start=0&ndsp=16&tx=51&ty=14Happy birthday, dear blog! I hope it’s a blast! You’ve been such a great friend – forcing me to think and do research. You’ve been a help in remembering precious memories and tidbits. You save pictures of our sweet babies for us to see later and marvel at how far they’ve come. So thank you! Here’s to many more!

Ok, so technically it’s not your birthday. Technically your birthday is November 9, 2009. David and I weren’t even married yet. We needed a place to communicate details of our wedding and, of course, to share our engagement pictures (inaugural post: Engagement Shoot). But see, I took a really long break between then and this time last year. What was I thinking??? Oh, how I missed writing! It was so good to be back! And this time, there was much to report on – three babies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reading that first post, A Day In Our Life With Three Babies, takes me back. Ohhhhh, how tiny they were! How much I worried. How hard I worked. How tired I was. How little sleep…but how fun. Those first smiles, first giggles, first scoots and lots of toots!!! Sometimes I really miss those days. I know, I know. I sound crazy. I used to long for the day they needed me less, when they would be more independent and I wasn’t the only one who could comfort them. And now they’re bigger. Independent. Need me less. Oh, they still need me! All day long they need me! But…it’s not the same. It’s a different need. It’s a toddler kind of need. And I’m sure the next stage will be different, and the next. So, I think today I’m going to complain less about the demanding screams coming from three little high chairs, or the 3 poopy diapers I’ve changed so far, or the amount of food they eat that may require me to turn farmer, or the seemingly endless hours they nurse…and be in love with this season.

See? You helped me get there – to this perspective. Thanks, dear blog! And happy birthday!

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
