RSS

My Addiction

13 Mar

I confess. I have one. At least, it is a slight addiction…. “Hi, my name is Jennifer and I’m addicted to strollers.” I have five. To be fair, though, each one serves their purpose. No, no they really do! And actually, many moms of multiples (MoMs) have far more than this…so there! And honestly, we’ve been blessed with so many of them we have only had to purchase two!

double and single

First walk in the stroller(s)!!!

I have a single stroller. Yep. With three babies. Originally, I wanted a single and double so we could snap the infant carriers into them and each push a stroller. I hoped that would minimize the attention that so many of the triple strollers get. Now I use it if I take one out at a time…or I will.

I have a double stroller. This was especially nice in the first 9 months because I could wear one and David could push this one. People often ignored us…score! This one was amazing but has the least functionality for us now that I don’t wear one, so I will be selling it in the upcoming Boutique for a Week sale (see you there!!!).

jogger

First walk in the Triple Jogger!!! They are thrilled, can you tell?

I have a triple jogger. I.love.this.stroller. I do. My absolute only complaint is that it won’t fit through doorways. Betcha never thought about that challenge before! Have to take the kids outside to load them in….follow that thinking. This means I have to leave Baby 1 and then Baby 2 in the stroller to go back inside and get the others. Yup. But I still love this stroller. They sit side by side and there’s a HUGE storage compartment below, a massive sun shade and it’s very easy to maneuver…for a triple stroller. Now, jogging? Yeah, I’m not there yet. Since I hate running, I probably never will be. But it’s our dedicated neighborhood-stroll-er, for sure.

valco

Blowing kisses at you from the Valco with Joey seat!!!

I have a Valco. Valcos retail for over $1000. We got ours used-used (third hand…are you seeing a pattern here?) for $250. We added the Joey seat for another $100, still saving us about $700!!! And I love this beast. This is probably my only complaint with this one. It’s massive. It’s heavy. It’s all I can do to lift it in and out of the van. If David is with me (who am I kidding, I don’t take them out without him!) we will evaluate whether the Joey is needed or not. If it is, it takes about 30 minutes to set it up. Ok, not quite…but it is a process. Back to why I love it, though: it is narrow and so it does fit through doorways. It has a big compartment below and TONS of storage. Seriously, there are pockets I haven’t even found on this thing! And similarly, this stroller gives us the option of going a bit more incognito if we separate and carry one – it becomes “just” a double stroller. This one stays in the van.

Finally, I just purchased (with a gift card!!!) a Radio Flyer Triple Play Wagon Deluxe. (Why does everything for triplets sound so complicated?!) I am beyond excited about this. From what I’ve heard this baby replaces the “Choo-choo” I’ve been wanting in coolness and efficiency. It has great storage. It turns easily. It gets less attention and stares. All of these were great incentives for me. Plus, it’s narrow and I can bring it into the house, load the babies and walk around the neighborhood. I can unload it from the van for quick trips somewhere (like to our chiropractor). The possibilities are endless. I’m looking forward to more freedom with this bad boy, as described in Monday’s post: Doing “Normal.”  I can’t wait for it to arrive!

I’ll post pictures soon of the babies enjoying their new wheels. =) In the meantime, which one do you like best?

***Update: Ahhhhh! I was alerted that the RF Wagon is now $30 off. So, normally $199, I paid $109 and got free shipping and used a gift card!!!***

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 responses to “My Addiction

  1. Valerie

    March 13, 2013 at 10:30 am

    If I had three, I think I’d love strollers too!! I love the look of your jogging stroller. 😀 All your photos are so precious!

     
  2. Elizabeth

    March 13, 2013 at 11:36 am

    I wish the radio flyer wagon had come out last year! At 2.5 I think we are almost past that stage so I had to buy one and only use it for a short time…but they look awesome. I know I’m probably the only one without a choo choo wagon…but they just seemed so long and bulky and i would have used it at the same places I use my triple jogger…and that seems more comfy. But yes…I am a stroller addict too. 🙂

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      March 14, 2013 at 10:57 pm

      Oh no! Bummer, Elizabeth! :o/ I hesitated with the choo choo for the same reason. :o/

       
  3. Ashleigh

    March 13, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    Hi. My name is Ashleigh and I am also addicted to strollers. 😉 We have the Baby Jogger City Select, which operated as a snap n’ go during the early months. It is my city walking stroller because it is “compact.” We have a Maclaren double umbrella for travel. And, we have a Chariot – a jogging stroller/bike trailer. They all have their uses!!

     
  4. Janice

    March 13, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    Did you know that you can get a very light Valco Baby and add the Little Joey to it. If you are ever interested, let me know. We just started carrying Valco Baby because I was so impressed with them. They Rock! I am trying to get one for the Great Cloth Diaper Change. Wish me luck. Mommas need to see these strollers. 🙂

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      March 14, 2013 at 10:58 pm

      Oooh, nice! 🙂 I do love Valcooooooooooooo! Now if only they could clip infant carriers in, it’d be a one-stop stroller!!! 🙂

       
  5. Heather

    March 13, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    We loooved the peg perego double or triple in a row versions….had ummm 3 of them and I had all singleton children! O_o must say the triple jogger is my favorite except for the aspect of fitting in doorways. But mine were already 1, 3 & 5 when we bought it and it was mainly for Disney or outside use at Cranes Roost. The one handed stearing with normal height handle bar was a life saver on my back since I mostly used it solo….35pound children x 3 plus stroller weight is well, more then I weigh and a tooon to push if it’s not done with the “right” wheels and stroller!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      March 14, 2013 at 10:59 pm

      Yes, my generous friend – I love the jogger you graciously bestowed upon us! 🙂 So glad you four loved it, too! 🙂

       
  6. Capri + 3--Theresa

    March 18, 2013 at 10:13 am

    I love all the cute photos. I understand that different strollers are needed for different purposes. We have a single, twins and a quad stroller. Our best quad stroller broke, but we have one that is too heavy to lift but can go around the block. Enjoy your new wagon. It is really cute!

     
  7. Nicole Hunt

    March 18, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    I have that same triple jogger – I LOVE that thing! 🙂 I used to tease my friends with more than one stroller to their name. Now I understand…

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      March 19, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      Haha! Gotta love it! And yes, I would never have understood the need for more than one, either. 🙂

       
  8. katie

    March 19, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    I too am a stroller addict. I have owned a triple decker, a foundations trio triple. A matching Graco double & single. 3 single umbrella strollers. A double jeep side-by-side. And a choo-choo wagon. I think thats all? My kiddos are almost 3.5 & I’m searching for something now thats smaller, but that I can cram 3 kids into briefly for say, trips to the zoo. Wondering if I could get all 3 on a double sit & stand? I just saw that new wagon last week, looks pretty cool. I LOVED our choo-choo at age 2, kept them each in their own space & eliminated fighting. But now that they walk so much, its just too large for daily use for us.

    I’m also a carseat addict. Between my car, hubby’s car & Grandma’s car (she did our daycare the first 2 years) we have owned 20 carseats in 3 years. And I currently have 2 (or 3) that I want to replace. But I’ve got to wait a bit or my dear husband might kill me!

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      March 20, 2013 at 9:35 pm

      Niiiiiiiiice! :o) That is a LOT of strollers! And WOW! I’m curious about all those carseats! 🙂 Do tell!!!

       
  9. 1+3 boys Mabel

    May 16, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    I have a triple snap & go, a triple tandem, a Graco double and single for my almost 20 months triplets (mine are 1 day older than yours), plus an umbrella stroller from my older toddler. I am thinking of getting a double umbrella stroller to be used with the single umbrella stroller for the triplets to avoid attentions of bulky triple strollers. The triple wagon maybe perfect for a short trip.

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      May 16, 2013 at 3:01 pm

      One day older?! How fun is that! 🙂 I’m not familiar with the snap and go or the tandem! Do you like them?

      The wagon definitely gets less attention because they’re not side by side. 🙂

       
      • 1+3 boys Mabel

        May 23, 2013 at 8:33 am

        Yes, 1 day older, which is why I find it interesting to read your blog. They’re identical triplets.
        We liked the snap and go but the boys already outgrow it. The tandem is too long, hard to turn, and attract a lot attention so we hardly use it. I will definitely get a double umbrella stroller. We took the babies to doctor this week and found out it’s easier for the doctor to focus on 1 when we keep the other 2 in a separate room, so a double and a single umbrella strollers will be convenient. The wagon is on sale now but we’re not sure how often we will use it since we will be using the strollers most of the time. I’m still looking for something we can use anywhere (indoor, outdoor, traveling, airports, etc).

         
      • Jennifer Fountain

        May 26, 2013 at 9:45 pm

        Identical…wowwwwww. I’m in awe! 🙂 Are you in the 2011 Fb group and I just haven’t made the connection yet? 😛

        Don’t tell me about umbrella strollers!!!!!! Don’t feeeeeeed my addiction! 🙂

         
  10. 1+3 boys Mabel

    May 28, 2013 at 7:15 am

    We finally bought the Double Umbrella Stroller (it is Babies R Us brand, the only double umbrella stroller with padded seats and baskets I could find)! We used it with the single umbrella stroller (same brand with padded seat and basket underneath). We went to the park and the beach. When 1 baby got cranky, I could take him for a walk on the single stroller while my hubby stayed with the other 2 babies on the double stroller. The best part… we could fit the double stroller on the floor of 2nd row in the car and still have plenty of room in the 3rd row and the trunk. I’m thinking of getting a stroller link to link the 2 strollers together when we’re outdoor with wide space/path.

    I’m not in the 2011 Fb group. I have a Fb account. You maybe able to locate me via my email.

     
    • Jennifer Fountain

      May 28, 2013 at 10:03 am

      Very interesting! I don’t hear too much about umbrellas for triplets so I’m really curious! I’m going to have to check it out! 🙂

      I will add you! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
