RSS

O Parents, Parents!

28 Mar

 O Parents, Parents! http://growinguptriplets.com/2013/03/27/o-parents-parents/  #parenting, #childtrainingI thought this was a wonderful reminder for every parent!! It is parenting info from Scripture at its best!

“Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.” Ephesians 6:4

Children are keen observers, and are much more powerfully affected by what they see–than by what they hear. It is of little use to talk to them of the gospel–if we do not adorn the doctrine of God our Savior in our lives. Thousands of children are ruined by the conduct of their parents–and many of them professing Christian parents!

O parents, parents! Take care what you are teaching your children by your example. You are always influencing them for good–or evil. You are leading them to Heaven–or Hell. Not a day passes, but you produce impressions–perhaps permanent impressions–either good or bad.

When parents profess to be Christians, and do not carry out Christian principles in their daily lives–can we be surprised if their children turn out ungodly?

I fear that the blood of many children’s souls–will be found on their parents’ garments! I fear the open criminality of many children–is but a public exposure of the secret inconsistency of many professedly Christian parents!

How much attention is frequently paid to the body–how little to the soul! How much time and expense are spent on nurturing the mind–and how little on the heart! How many educate for time–not for eternity! How many prepare their children to take a wealthy place in the world–how few endeavor to prepare their children to take a place in Heaven! (found at: http://www.gracegems.org)

Even though my munchies are only 17 months old, I am very aware that they will “catch” more than I teach. I want them to see me having quiet times with my Saviour, to hear me pray for lunch in a truly grateful way and not just to hurriedly get through it, to see me fight with Dada…and then repent and ask forgiveness, to see me serve Dada joyfully, to see me serve the church joyfully, to see me serve them joyfully, to watch me make mistakes and admit them, to experience me being transparent with them and teach them how to do the same…

It is a heavy task, this parenting thing. And we have only just begun!!! If you have any suggestions or bits of advice, I would love to hear them!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2013 in Our God is Faithful

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “O Parents, Parents!

  1. Heather

    April 1, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Here’s one that I wish I’d did for Alec especially bc I wanted to sooo bad from the beginning….make Noah a brother! ^_^ I always said I wanted an even # of kids if it was less then 5, after that point I figured I could pair them up in groups of 2 or 3….but just having 3 means someone is typically feeling abandoned and left out from the other two! And it’s always an end of the world scenario playing out from their broken little hearts! 😉 So that’s my super great advice for you, coming from just telling Alec to make up an imaginary friend to play with and we could name him and everything! Haha!

     

Leave a Reply

 
